Snowman

Snowman

A six foot tall totem was a daunting task to me. I was so focused on making a sculpture that a person could recognize the shape of that I did not think in abstract. A result was a snowman. Creating a snowman was more of a nostalgic experience for me; I enjoyed building snowmen as a child. 

If I were to create such a sculpture again I would likely aim for more dynamic lines than what stacking cubes offer. Instead of diagonal lines, colors and patterns were a focus. After seeing so much blue, orange was chosen as the color for the ribbon in the hat to add contrast. The origami pieces inside the cubes of the snowman also help to add pinpoints of color so the viewer is not lost in the blue; scale change also helps to aid this. The pattern of the cubes, and the pattern of the patterns of the cubes help to unify the sculpture as a whole.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

